Thursday, June 19th

Dear Colleague,

Over the last four years, Virginia's law enforcement community continues to stand strong to protect our citizens.

In contrast with the previous administration, our present environment is seeing an unprecedented level of co-operation with state law enforcement leaders on topics as broad as gun violence to illegal narcotics. Ceasefire Virginia remains an incredible success, championed and led by Attorney General Jason Miyares. Moreover, the era of putting criminals first and victims dead last is over.

This tremendous reversal over the last four years has in no small part been due to the combined efforts of local, state, and federal law enforcement to keep Virginians safe.

Jay Jones has been an outspoken advocate of the many tools weaponized to weaken Virginia's law enforcement community, replacing prosecutors with social workers, who put criminals first and victims dead last. The litany of legislation aimed not at criminals but at law enforcement is not just a failure of policy, but a policy designed to fail Virginia families:

- Eliminating qualified immunity. In 2020, Jones co-sponsored and voted for a bill that would strip qualified immunity protections from Virginia's law enforcement officers, making it easier for individuals to sue police for civil rights violations. No sheriff's deputy should risk bankruptcy and losing their life savings or their homes just for doing their jobs. Jones legislation would have kept qualified immunity for politicians, but not for the men and women wearing the badge.
- Eliminating School Resource Officers (SROs). Jones not only advocated for the removal of SROs from public schools, but insisted that localities go so far as the City of Charlottesville in eliminating their presence altogether, making our schools more dangerous and less safe.
- **Supporting cashless bail.** In 2021, Jones voted for legislation that led to offenders being released from custody with either low or even no bond while awaiting trial.
- Eliminating mandatory minimum sentencing for selling drugs to minors in schools. Jones voted for a bill that would have eliminated certain mandatory minimum sentencing for drug related crimes and DUI offenses.
- Supported Enhanced Earned Sentencing Credits (EESC). Jones co-sponsored the legislation supporting EESC and this policy has resulted in direct harm to Virginians. During the first 18 months of this policy, 43.71% were rearrested, resulting in a 28.68% reconviction rate and a

9.58% reincarceration rate. That includes 53 murders, 152 abductions, 24 rapes, 104 felony assaults, 33 arsons, 66 DUIs, 1,579 drug violations, 69 sex offenses, 214 burglaries, and 794 larceny/fraud cases — all involving EESC.

• Supported investigating law enforcement for "pattern and practice" violations. Localities which do not comply with this systemic audit would have been placed at risk of losing their funding.

Unfortunately, those responsible for the tidal wave of lawlessness, violence, and illicit drug activity are unapologetically seeking a mandate to reverse the tremendous progress Virginia's law enforcement professionals have achieved over the last four years.

Attorney General Jason Miyares continues to demonstrate his commitment to Virginia's law enforcement community and first responders. More than this, not only is Miyares committed to the citizens and families we serve every day, his commitment to putting victims first is emblematic of the spirit which motivates each of us to inspire future generations to protect and serve.

We ask that you join so many of us in the law enforcement community in standing united in our support of Attorney General Jason Miyares and ask each and every single member of Virginia law enforcement community to remind our friends, families, and local communities to remember the difference four years makes. We cannot go back to four more years of lawlessness, violence, and resistance to the men and women who serve.

The choice is clear. The decision is ours.

SIGNED,

Sheriff Kyle M. Moore	Sheriff Robert Richardson	Sheriff Mike Miller	Sheriff Brian K. Roberts
Alleghany County & Covington	Appomattox County	Bedford County	Brunswick County
Sheriff William Kidd Jr.	Sheriff Whit W. Clark III	Sheriff Kevin Kemp	Sheriff Jayson Crawley
Buckingham County	Campbell County	Carroll County	Charles City County
Sheriff Travis M. Sumption Clarke County	Sheriff Darrell L. Hodges Cumberland County	Sheriff Jeremy Flemming Dickenson County	Sheriff Jeremy A. Falls Fauquier County
Sheriff Richard A. Vaughan	Sheriff Wayne Davis	Sheriff Donald Lowe	Sheriff Donald T. Sloan
Grayson County	Henry County	Louisa County	Lynchburg City
Sheriff Hank Partin	Sheriff Bryan Hutcheson	Sheriff Brian Hieatt	
Montgomery County	Rockingham County	Tazewell County	