January 27, 2025

The Honorable Tom Cotton Chairman Select Committee on Intelligence United States Senate 211 Hart Senate Office Building Washington, D.C. 20510

The Honorable Mark Warner Vice Chairman Select Committee on Intelligence United States Senate 211 Hart Senate Office Building Washington, D.C. 20510

Dear Chairman Cotton and Vice Chairman Warner,

We, the undersigned former intelligence and national security officials, urge members of the United States Senate to confirm Tulsi Gabbard to serve as President Trump's Director of National Intelligence. Her service as DNI will begin undoing the gross politicization that has come to characterize intelligence bureaucracies, which has been to the great detriment of the freedom and security of the United States and its citizens.

Lt. Col. Gabbard's experience more than qualifies her for this important position. A military officer with more than 20 years of honorable service, she undertook multiple combat deployments and risked her life in defense of the United States. In Congress, she served on numerous national security committees and was an outspoken champion for America's warriors and for our cherished constitutional freedoms.

In both these roles, she experienced first-hand how intelligence, when used as intended, provides critical support to America's military and political leaders.

When intelligence was abused, Lt. Col. Gabbard spoke up and insisted on safeguards. In contrast to the many former senior intelligence officials who politicized their profession and disgraced themselves by running misinformation operations to undermine the President of the United States—such as by signing the infamous Biden laptop "Russian disinformation" letter or appearing on partisan programs to knowingly mislead the public with false claims of inside knowledge and access to classified information—Lt. Col. Gabbard stood up for truth, integrity, and following the facts. These are precisely the values necessary for the leader of the intelligence community.

As former collectors, analysts, consumers, and enablers of intelligence, we support Lt. Col. Tulsi Gabbard to lead the IC. She has the integrity, and moral courage, to restore objectivity and professionalism to the nation's intelligence agencies.

Signed,

Robert C. O'Brien, former National Security Advisor

Richard Grenell, former Acting Director of National Intelligence

Scott P. Brown, former US Senator/US Ambassador to New Zealand and Samoa

Erik Prince, former SEAL/Intel community

Carla Sands, former U.S. Ambassador to the Kingdom of Denmark

Charles Williams, former Assistant Secretary of the Navy

Nicholas S. Kass, former Deputy Assistant Secretary of State, National Security Council; National Intelligence Council, Senior CIA Officer

Rear Admiral Peter J. Brown, USCG ret., former Homeland Security and Counterterrorism Advisor to the President

Ty McCoy, former Acting Secretary of the Air Force. (Ret.)

Jeffrey Ross Gunter, former U.S. Ambassador to the Republic of Iceland

Alexander B. Gray, former Deputy Assistant to the President and Chief of Staff of the White House National Security Council

Christopher B. Porter, former National Intelligence Officer for Cyber

Abby Jones, former White House Liaison, State Department

Eddie Vasquez, former Deputy Senior Director, National Security Council

Ryan Arant, former Senior Advisor for International Negotiations, National Security Council

Ezra Cohen, former Acting Undersecretary of Defense for Intelligence and Security, DoD Operations Officer

Uttam Dhillon, former Acting Administrator, Drug Enforcement Administration; former Director, INTERPOL Washington

Jim Schwab, former Naval Officer; Founding Partner, CrimStone Partners.

Anthony Ruggiero, former Deputy Assistant to the President and White House National Security Council Senior Director for Counterproliferation and Biodefense.

Feliks Pleszczynski, former Director of International Economic Affairs, National Security Council

James B. Skinner, former Special Assistant to the U.S. National Security Advisor

Spencer Chretien, former Special Assistant to the President

Ryan Smith, former National Security Council, former U.S Department of Homeland Security

Warren Barrett III, former U.S Department of Homeland Security

Jacob Smith, former Army Intelligence Officer, former Department of Energy

Kelly Anne O'Toole, former Cyber Security Infrastructure Security Agency, former US Department of Homeland Security Office of the Secretary

Julia Bristol, former National Security Council, former US Department of Homeland Security Office of the Secretary

Chris Cruden, Former Senior Advisor to the Under Secretary of Defense for Intelligence & Security

Steve Ribaudo, former CIA officer

Joshua Whitehouse, former White House Liaison, Department of Defense; White House Liaison, US Department of Homeland Security

Christian Whiton, former State Department Senior Advisor

Patrick Weaver, former Special Advisor to the Secretary of Homeland Security and Associate Director for Western Hemisphere Affairs, National Security Council

Colton R. Overcash, former Strategic Advisor, U.S. Department of Homeland Security

Captain Anthony J. Ceraolo, USCG Ret., former Executive Assistant to the Deputy Commandant for Operations, USCG HQ

Kevin P. Smith, former Director, National Security Council

Captain Mark R Vandroff, USN Ret., former Deputy Assistant to the President and Senior Director for Defense Policy, National Security Council

Charles J. McLaughlin, IV, former Director, National Security Council and Senior Advisor, Office of Policy Planning, Department of State

Earl G. Matthews, former Deputy Assistant to the President and Senior Director for Defense Policy and Strategy, National Security Council Staff and former Acting General Counsel of the Army

Naweed Tahmas, former Special Assistant to the President

Mallory Rascher Cogar, former Special Assistant to the Deputy Secretary, U.S Department of Homeland Security; Border and Transportation Security Directorate, National Security Council

Troup Hemenway, former Senior Advisor to the Under Secretary of Defense for Research and Engineering

Thomas K. Plofchan, III, former Senior Counselor for Counterterrorism and Intelligence, U.S. Department of Homeland Security

Commander Jay Furman, U.S. Navy (Ret.)

Kirby Weaver, former Army Ranger, 3rd Ranger Battalion and High Threat Security Consultant for the U.S. Intelligence Community

Colonel Paul B. Deckert, USMC Ret.

Matthew Lee, U.S. Navy Ret.

Pete Cifichiello, U.S. Navy Ret.

Amanda Milius, former Deputy Assistant Secretary, U.S. Department of State

Peter W. Warren, U.S. Navy Ret.

John S. Warren, U.S. Army veteran and Law Enforcement Officer

Benson Peretti, U.S. Navy veteran and Maritime Executive

Bella Grabowski, former Special Assistant to the Under Secretary of Defense for Acquisition & Sustainment

Camilo Sandoval, former U.S. Chief Information Security Officer, White House Office of Management & Budget

Joshua Steinman, former Deputy to the President, Senior Director for Cyber National Security Council

Dean Valentine, US Navy SEAL, former Acting Assistant Secretary of Defense for African Affairs (Policy)

Mora Namdar, former Acting Assistant Secretary for Consular Affairs, U.S Department of State

Hon. Nathan Simington, former Senior Advisor, U.S. Department of Commerce

Andrew Kloster, former U.S Department of Transportation; former White House Presidential Personnel Office

Sabrina Teichman, former Senior Counselor for International Affairs, U.S. Department of Homeland Security

Dr. Kiron K. Skinner, former Director of Policy Planning, US Department of State