## Congress of the United States

Washington, DC 20510

December 18, 2024

The Honorable Tom Cole	The Honorable Rosa DeLauro
Chair	Ranking Member
House Committee on Appropriations	House Committee on Appropriations
Washington, D.C. 20515	Washington, D.C. 20515
The Honorable Mario Diaz-Balart Chair Subcommittee on State, Foreign Operations, and Related Programs Washington, D.C. 20515	The Honorable Barbara Lee Ranking Member Subcommittee on State, Foreign Operations, and Related Programs Washington, D.C. 20515

Dear Chairs Cole and Diaz-Balart and Ranking Members DeLauro and Lee:

We write to urge you to maintain critical provisions for the Afghan Special Immigrant Visa (SIV) program<sup>1</sup> in the Fiscal Year (FY) 2025 appropriations package. Authorizing new Afghan SIVs is critical to vetting and relocating qualified Afghan principal applicants currently in the processing pipeline.

The Afghan SIV program was first enacted through the Afghan Allies Protection Act of 2009 to provide a life-saving path to safety for Afghan nationals who face serious danger as a result of their work alongside U.S. troops, diplomats, and contractors. Since that time, the program has been extended and reformed numerous times, each time with significant bipartisan and bicameral support.

In FY 2019, FY 2020, FY 2021, FY 2023, and FY 2024, Congress recognized the importance of the SIV program and demonstrated a shared commitment to honoring our allies by authorizing additional visas through appropriations packages. Congress must continue this work so that the State Department is able to issue visas to eligible Afghans who face imminent threats from the Taliban, Islamic State, and other hostile groups because of their service to the U.S. and our allies.

We therefore request that you maintain the following language in the FY 2025 State, Foreign Operations, and Related Programs Appropriations bill (S. 4797, Section 7034(d)(6)):

AFGHAN ALLIES.—Section 602(b)(3)(F) of 13 the Afghan Allies Protection Act of 2009 (8 U.S.C. 14 1101 note) is amended—

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> Section 602(b)(3)(F) of the Afghan Allies Protection Act of 2009 (<u>8 U.S.C. 1101</u> note), otherwise known as Special Immigration Visas for Afghans – Who Were Employed by/on Behalf of the U.S. Government.

(A) in the heading, by striking '2024'' and inserting '2025'';
(B) in the matter preceding clause (i), in the first sentence, by striking '50,500'' and inserting '70,500''; and
(C) in clauses (ii), by striking 'December 31, 2025'' and inserting 'December 31, 2027''.

Our Afghan allies must not be left without this crucial pathway to safety from the violent dangers they face because of their service to the U.S. mission.

Thank you for your consideration.

Sincerely,

Jason Crow Member of Congress

Earl Blumenauer Member of Congress

mariannette Thieler Marker

Mariannette Miller-Meeks, M.D. Member of Congress

Gwen S. Moore Member of Congress

schang Munn

Zach Nunn <sup>7</sup> Member of Congress

Frank R. U

Brad R. Wenstrup, D.P.M. Member of Congress

James P. McGovern Member of Congress

Eleanor Holmes Norton Member of Congress

halmand Jan Schakowsky

Member of Congress

Nikema Williams Member of Congress

Blen

Becca Balint Member of Congress

Ami Bera, M.D. Member of Congress

Donald G. Davis Member of Congress

Greg Stanton Member of Congress

Take Auchincloss Member of Congress

3. a. Janannendi

John Garamendi Member of Congress

10 CLL

Salud Carbajal Member of Congress

Juan Vargas Member of Congress

nai

Suzanne Bonamici Member of Congress

ALL GTU

Delia C. Ramirez **4** Member of Congress

<u>A QINO</u>

Josh Gottheimer Member of Congress

Henry C. "Hank' Johnson, Jr. Member of Congress

une Pasti

Mamie Raskin Member of Congress

Mikie Sherrill Member of Congress

melinel m.

Eric Swalwell Member of Congress

Chris Deluzio Member of Congress

Mussy Houkhan

Chrissy Houlahan Member of Congress

Joe Courtney Member of Congress

mone

Julia Brownley Member of Congress

ma Titas

Dina Titus Member of Congress

Golden

ared Golden Member of Congress

nmy Panetta

Member of Congress

- hra

Dwight Evans Member of Congress

Lori Trahan Member of Congress

Sean Casten Member of Congress

Andre Carson Member of Congress

iko (Yn Mike Quigley

Member of Congress

Seth Moulton Member of Congress

Terrold Hadler

Ferrold Nadler Member of Congress

ndres Selines

Andrea Salinas Member of Congress

Haley M. Stevens Member of Congress

Katie Porter Member of Congress

MOUIN CASTRO

oaquin Castro Member of Congress

Scott H. Peters Member of Congress

onathan L. Jackson Member of Congress

Donald S. Beyer Jr. Member of Congress

Dan Goldman Member of Congress

Thomas 1

Thomas R. Suozzi Member of Congress

Ted W. Iren

Ted W. Lieu Member of Congress

Chelk R\_\_\_\_

Chellie Pingree Member of Congress

Pramila Jayapal Member of Congress

Gabe Amo Member of Congress

Stephen F. Lynch Member of Congress

William R. Keating Member of Congress

organ Milbarrey Morgan McGarvey

Member of Congress

CC: The Honorable Mike Johnson, Speaker, House of Representatives The Honorable Hakeem Jeffries, Minority Leader, House of Representatives