Congress of the United States

House of Representatives
Washington, DC 20515-4305

April 18, 2023

The Honorable Antony Blinken Secretary U.S. Department of State Harry S Truman Building 2201 C Street N.W. Washington D.C. 20520

Dear Secretary Blinken,

We urge you to extend a formal invitation to the Honorable Tsai Ing-wen, President of Taiwan, to attend the annual Asia Pacific Economic Cooperation (APEC) leaders' summit in San Francisco, California, the week of November 12th, 2023. Given Taiwan's important economic, cultural, and technological contributions to the region, we believe President Tsai Ing-wen deserves our full respect as much as Taiwan deserves fair and equal treatment on par with those of other recognition and standing in APEC member states.

Taiwan has been a critical partner of the United States, both in the Asia-Pacific region and globally. As a thriving multi-party democracy and one of the world's most technologically advanced economies, Taiwan has played an increasingly important role in regional economic growth and development. Our two countries share a deep commitment to democratic values and the rule of law and have a longstanding partnership in areas such as trade, security, and cultural exchange. Taiwan's pioneering leadership in the semiconductor industry is critical to global technology supply chains and has become an indispensable component of the United States' own economic and national security. As a full member in good standing of the APEC regional forum, Taiwan's participation in the leaders' summit is essential to ensuring the forum's success and relevance and its commitment to its purpose of promoting economic cooperation.

It is important to note that existing U.S. law has long stipulated that the President of Taiwan shall be welcome in the United States at any time to discuss a host of important bilateral issues, including economic and security cooperation, among others. Additionally, the United States has affirmed its policy to encourage high-level visits between senior American and Taiwanese officials, including our respective presidents, with the passage of the landmark Taiwan Travel Act a few short years ago. Including President Tsai in the 2023 APEC leaders' summit is consistent with these policies and would further strengthen the partnership between our two countries. By contrast, continuing to exclude Taiwan's full participation in APEC at the behest of

the Chinese Communist Party sends the wrong message and is tantamount to the U.S. asking China for a permission slip to conduct bilateral foreign relations.

House Speaker Kevin McCarthy's recent meeting with President Tsai Ing-Wen was a display of our unwavering support for the people of Taiwan. It is critical that U.S. leaders continue to affirm our bottom line of supporting a free Taiwan and rejecting China's provocation and threatening countermeasures to fulfill its "One-China Policy." Speaker McCarthy, and additional U.S. lawmakers, met with President Tsai Ing-Wen to strengthen the bond between our two countries, and this friendship must be maintained to ensure peace and regional stability.

As you prepare for the 2023 APEC leaders' summit, we would like to remind you of the significant contributions Taiwan has made to regional and global stability and Taiwan's critical role in the Asia-Pacific region. We urge you to recognize the essential nature our partnership with Taiwan has made to regional and global stability – and to comply with existing U.S. law – by extending a formal invitation to President Tsai Ing-wen for the upcoming 2023 APEC leaders' summit with the same respect and honor as other APEC member states.

Thank you in advance for your favorable consideration, and we look forward to hearing from you.

Sincerely,

Lance Gooden

Doug LaMalfa

Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Cathy McMorris Rodgers Member of Congress

Scott DesJarlais, M.D.

Member of Congress

Brian Babin

Burgess Owens

Member of Congress

Member of Congress

George Santos

Member of Congress

Randy K. Weber

Member of Congress

Tom Tiffany

Member of Congress

Pete Stauber Member of Congress



Ryan Zinke Member of Congress



Lisa McClain Member of Congress

Nancy Mace Member of Congress

Andy Ogles

Member of Congress

John Joyce

Member of Congress

Bill Johnson Member of Congress

Jeff Van Drew Member of Congress John Rose

Member of Congress

Gus M. Bilirakis

Member of Congress

Tim Burchett

Member of Congress

Pete Sessions

Member of Congress