## Congress of the United States Washington, DC 20515

September 8, 2022

The Honorable Joseph R. Biden President of the United States The White House 1600 Pennsylvania Avenue, N.W. Washington, D.C. 20500

Dear President Biden,

We write to strongly urge you to deny entry visas to the United States for Iranian President Ebrahim Raisi and his delegation to attend the United Nations General Assembly's 77<sup>th</sup> session in New York this September.

The United States cannot overlook Ebrahim Raisi's direct involvement in gross violations of internationally recognized human rights, including the 1988 organized mass murder of thousands of political prisoners, among whom were women and children, by the Iranian regime. A majority of those murdered were members or supporters of the People's Mojahedin of Iran (PMOI), also known as the Mujahedeen-e-Khalq (MEK). Members of other political dissident groups were murdered as well. Raisi was a documented member of the Tehran "death committee", the group responsible for overseeing the massacre. It is highly concerning that Raisi and other members of the so called "death committee" have not been investigated and charged with crimes against humanity. Furthermore, Raisi continues to publicly defend his role in the 1988 executions.<sup>2</sup>

It is unacceptable that the Iranian government continues to back state-sponsored terrorist activities around the globe, including campaigns to assassinate American officials. The Department of Justice recently announced charges against a member of the Islamic Revolutionary Guard Corps for planning to assassinate former National Security Advisor John Bolton.<sup>3</sup> Additionally in 2019, the Department of the Treasury's Office of Foreign Assets

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> Hanna, Andrew. "Raisi: Role in 1988 Massacre." *The Iran Primer*, United States Institute of Peace, 21 July 2021, iranprimer.usip.org/blog/2021/jul/21/raisi-role-1988-massacre.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup> Nebehay, Stephanie. "EXCLUSIVE U.N. Expert Backs Probe into Iran's 1988 Killings, Raisi's Role." *Reuters*, 29 June 2021, www.reuters.com/world/middle-east/exclusive-un-expert-backs-probe-into-irans-1988-killings-raisis-role-2021-06-29/.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>3</sup> U.S. Department of Justice. "Member of Iran's Islamic Revolutionary Guard Corps (IRGC) Charged with Plot to Murder the Former National Security Advisor." *U.S. Department of Justice*, 10 Aug. 2022,

Control (OFAC) sanctioned Ebrahim Raisi for his role in oppressing Iranian civilians and promoting terrorism abroad, pursuant to Executive Order 13876.<sup>4</sup>

Section 212 of the Immigration and Nationality Act (INA) gives the Department of Homeland Security and the Department of State the legal authority to deny entry to any individual who "outside the United States, has committed, ordered, incited, assisted, or otherwise participated in the act of torture... or under color of law of any foreign nation, any extrajudicial killing, as defined in section 3(a) of the Torture Victim Protection Act of 1991." Section 212 also provides the authority to deny "Any alien who… has been associated with a terrorist organization and intends while in the United States to engage solely, principally, or incidentally in activities that could endanger the welfare, safety, or security of the United States." Furthermore, the President has the authority to deny entry of individuals whose entry into the United States is deemed "detrimental to the interests of the United States."

There is also precedent to support a decision to deny an Iranian leader and his officials United States entry visas. In the last decade, two administrations have denied entry visas to Iranian regime officials, including Iran's UN Ambassador Hamid Aboutalebi (2014) and its foreign minister Javad Zarif (2020).<sup>5</sup>

Given Ebrahim Raisi's record of supporting terrorism and violating human rights, he should not be afforded the privilege to step onto American soil nor the privilege to address the United Nations General Assembly. We cannot turn a blind eye to perpetrators of gross violations of internationally recognized human rights and cruel regimes that endanger both their people and Americans. We urge you and your administration to carefully consider this matter of national security and to use your authorities under the INA to deny Ebrahim Raisi and his delegation entry into the United States.

Sincerely,

www.justice.gov/opa/pr/member-irans-islamic-revolutionary-guard-corps-irgc-charged-plot-murder-former-national.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>4</sup> U.S. Department of the Treasury. "Treasury Designates Supreme Leader of Iran's Inner Circle Responsible for Advancing Regime's Domestic and Foreign Oppression." *U.S. Department of the Treasury*, 4 Nov. 2019, home.treasury.gov/news/press-releases/sm824.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>5</sup> Reuters staff. "U.S. Denies Iran's Zarif a Visa to Attend U.N.: U.S. Official." *Reuters*, 7 Jan. 2020, www.reuters.com/article/us-iraq-security-un-zarif/u-s-denies-irans-zarif-a-visa-to-attend-u-n-u-s-official-idUSKBN1Z605T; The White House. "Daily Press Briefing by Press Secretary Jay Carney, 4/11/2014." *Whitehouse.gov*, 22 July 2015, obamawhitehouse.archives.gov/the-press-office/2014/04/11/daily-press-briefing-press-secretary-jay-carney-4112014.;



Young Kim Member of Congress

Byron Donalds Member of Congress

Claudia Tenney Member of Congress

Claudia Jennes

Doug LaMalfa Member of Congress

Ted Budd Member of Congress

Robert E. Latta Member of Congress Allenfalajar

Maria Elvira Salazar Member of Congress

Carlos A. Gimenez Member of Congress

Brian Fitzpatrick
Member of Congress

W. Gregory Steube Member of Congress

Nancy Mace Member of Congress

Tim Ryan Member of Congress Ranky X. Wiln

Randy Weber
Mamber of Con

Member of Congress

Dan Crenshaw Member of Congress

Tom McClintock Member of Congress

Donald J. Bacon Member of Congress

Neal P. Dunn, M.D. Member of Congress

Debbie Lesko Member of Congress Gun Wagu-

Ann Wagner Member of Congress

Stephanie I. Bice

Stephanie Bice Member of Congress

David G. Valadao Member of Congress

Ralph Norman Member of Congress

David B. McKinley, P.E. Member of Congress

Tom Emmer Member of Congress Lisa C'medain

Lisa McClain Member of Congress

Kat Cammack Member of Congress

Nicole Malliotakis Member of Congress

Darrell Issa Member of Congress

Andrew R. Garbarino Member of Congress

Mark

Brad R. Wenstrup, D.P.M Member of Congress

Guy Reschenthaler Member of Congress Tony Gonzales

Member of Congress

William R. Timmons, IV Member of Congress

Jake D. Moore

Mariannette Miller-Meeks, M.D. Member of Congress

Mariannette of Miller Macker

Blake D. Moore Member of Congress Bob Gibbs Member of Congress Michael R June

Michael R. Turner Member of Congress

Louie Gohmert Member of Congress

A. Drew Ferguson IV Member of Congress

Chris Stewart Member of Congress

Pete Sessions

Pete Sessions
Member of Congress

Sheila Jackson Lee Member of Congress

Blaine Luetkemeyer Member of Congress

Bob Good Member of Congress

Troy Balderson Member of Congress

Scott Perry Member of Congress



Member of Congress

James R. Baird

Member of Congress

Abigan Spanberger
Member of Congress

Ronny L. Jackson Member of Congress

Pete Stauber

Member of Congress

CC: Secretary of State Anthony Blinken; Secretary of Homeland Security Alejandro Mayorkas; Attorney General Merrick Garland